The Beginning: The story of the Bookshelf Elf

I just wanted to share with you a situation that has been happening for some time now, in the cottage where I live. I had noticed several years ago that when I had purchased a book and come back from the shop I invariably left it on my “to read” bookshelf, i.e. to be read at a later date / time/work notwithstanding.

But the book seemed to disappear as if by magic when the time came for me to read it. After a period of time (I am not the brightest star in the cosmos), I had reason to believe that there must be other agencies at work. So after coming back from one of my usual book shop visits clutching a bag of wonderment that was later to be perused and enjoyed, I sat in a quiet dark corner of the room where the items had been placed as a trap. After many hours of waiting…nothing happened. So I continued with my normal routine, but returning again to the “to read” shelf it had once more been relieved of a literary gem that my eyes had not yet had the chance to caress!

After much wailing and gnashing of teeth, I came upon the ruse that I may be able to catch this little purloiner of my precious print with the smell of a cooking bacon sandwich (well it would bring me out of hiding anyway!). So I commenced with the frying of the bait. After a few minutes, there, to my surprise, it appeared at my knee.

Now, I know you aren’t going to believe this and will write if off as childish fantasy fiction, but really, honestly, absolutely – it’s true – I have a Bookshelf Elf!

To be continued…

About bazgriffiths

Reading books, History and Crime fiction lover! also love gardening and all things natural. I.T Support is my game,
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Beginning: The story of the Bookshelf Elf

  1. Pingback: Zaphyr and Zox: The Chase Begins (Volume 1, Chapter 1, Issue 1) | Hand of Ananke

Leave a Reply

